I pulled the trigger.... Wish me luck

So.... Five day ago I begin my quest to automate several functions in my house to make both my own and my wheelchair bound daughter's life easier. Over the last 5 days I have purchased a Yale lock, several Cree Connected bulbs, a Wyse camera, a Zooz Zen21 switch, three Echo Dots, three Smartthings Multipurpose Sensors, and a Smartthings hub. I already had an EcoBee thermostat and a two Sonos speakers. I was able to get everything set up and working. Them I started playing with the automation options. First, having to use two separate Mobile apps because both have features the other doesn't have was annoying. Second I learned that many of the more complex automations I want to create will require me to install WebCoRE. And finally, it is completely dependent on the cloud. Well my level of annoyance was reached and I begun my hunt for another option. I settled on Hubitat which I ordered today. I realize I will experience a learning curve with both ups and down but the community seems active and willing to help. I look forward to my little journey.

5 Likes

Good luck and you are in the right place! There is a learning curve, as you have noticed, but it’s not insurmountable. There will be times that cause you joy, and times that cause you frustration. I’ve had waaaaay more joy than frustration with Hubitat so far.

My only last advice would be to start slow. Pair one bulb. Build a single dashboard for that bulb. Build a rule that turns on that bulb at a specific time, and off at another time. Once you have that done you’ll be 90% of the way through the hardest part of the learning curve and adding the rest of your items/automating everything will become much easier.