I need some input on the aeotec 6 doorbell

I've got it in my cart. My old bell is dead. I need to replace it, so now's a great time to improve it. Can you please give me the pros and cons of the aeotec doorbell 6. Can I have it flash a light instead of ring in certain circumstances? What will I be able to do with this on HE. What will I hate about it? Does it work well in HE? I've actually chosen zwave because my zwave mesh is strong with every switch being zwave or zwave plus. Hit me with the facts, please.

I have zero experience with the Aeotec 6 doorbell. However I do have a Ring Video Doorbell 2 which I really like. Having the video feature is very nice, especially knowing when packages are delivered even though they don't bother to ring the doorbell. I have my Ring Doorbell integrated with Hubitat via two Amazon Alexa Routines, one for 'motion' and another for 'doorbell pressed.'

Just another option in case you had not considered it, yet...

On sale for $90 here...

I guess I should add that I have a code for packages to the garage, so I'm not concerned so much about deliveries.

1 Like

It's pretty good so far, it's not just a doorbell, it can be used as an alarm or for chimes. It works great with HE. The problem is finding a suitable spot with an outlet to mount the speaker.

1 Like

From the cons department I'd just say cost.
If you already have a siren/speaker you can use for ringing in your house, $69 seems steep for a z-wave outdoor button without Video.

Granted, I'm also in the Ring boat where I've turned off all motion detection for it, so it only turns on when someone presses the button and rings my Domo Siren, etc. That way too it's only recording when someone actually presses it and if I'm not home the two-way audio is a nice addition.

If I didn't want the camera and I didn't already have a siren/speakers, then this does look good.
Just my 2 cents

I have it. As a doorbell it works fine. You can pair up to 3 buttons with it if you want.