Hue white ambiance Bulb State does not change

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to home automation and started a few days ago by connecting all my Hue White Ambiance bulbs to the Hubitat hub.
My plan was to change the color temperature and light level based on the time of day.
So I configured a rule that changes these settings whenever a bulb is turned on. But unfortunately, the event is not triggered because the bulbs are always set to "On" when I look in the hub.
Can someone help me to solve this problem?

It's usually advised to keep your Hue bulbs on the Hue Bridge and link the Bridge to the hub by one of the available integration apps. Did you never have a Hue Bridge?

Can you try turning off each of the bulbs from the Off option in the Hubitat UI. and see it it works from that point onwards. Cos I know that Hue bulbs by default turn to "on" when they are first turned on at the wall and presumably when they are first paired to a hub or bridge.

1 Like

i never had a hue bridge bevore and i would prefere to not need it in the future tbh ^^. I tried what you suggested but with the same result. As soon as the turn to on they never turn back to off.
Do you know of any bulbs that just work with the HE?

Lifx is recommended and has just recently had a suite of built-in drivers created Release 2.3.0 Available

What driver are you using for these bulbs? "Generic Zigbee CT Bulb (dev)" is the recommended built-in driver, so if you're using another, I might switch to that one and see if it changes anything. (The "Advanced..." equivalent might work too, but they don't with everything.) Running the "Configure" command after you change drivers is a good idea, and for Zigbee devices like this it can't hurt to just run it once regardless if you're running into a problem like the one you describe.