Hubitat, your missing the boat. Reach out to Wink Users

Please reach out to the transitioning Wink users. I am transitioning from Wink and it has been daunting at best. I am an Electrical engineer, and have been intimidated. Feel lost because I don't know code, etc. Show users how to use Github and what it is. I search the community regularly and feel lost and frustrated very often. Please don't make assumptions that potentially new customers will just pick up on things. Hubitat is good, but you're missing the boat in bringing on a HUGE new customer base of Wink users.

You don't need to use Github to get started on Hubitat. You can if you want to add custom code for apps or drivers, but for new users--especially ones transitioning from more lรญmited platforms like Wink--the default set should be more than sufficient to get you started, and I wouldn't recommend starting with custom code right off the bat regardless.

I'm not saying the documentation couldn't be better, especially for those transitioning from different platforms. But there are a lot of helpful people in the Community. What are you having problems with? Lots of us are eager to help.

1 Like

Thanks! Just super aggravated about Schlage locks. Added 2 aeotecs in multiple set ups and still not reliable. Have followed everything listed in forums.

Also the radios in the Hubitat should be stronger. I've had to add 2 zwave repeaters and 2 zigbee repeaters at a cost of close to $100. That means the Hubitat wasn't a cheap purchase at $89 after all.

1 Like

Oh, and just as we speak, a Hubitat simple lighting rule failed to fire. Starting to think there's a little too much Hubitat Hype going around.

Nobody is forcing you to use HE. Use whatever platform works best for you. I haven't had any issues.