How to add a “private” device?

Hi all, I am a brand new user here because HomeKit integration is in beta and I am a Homekit user. I am hoping that my new HE can bring in some devices that are not native to HomeKit. I reviewed your getting started tutorials and I am kinda lost. I have added some public apps and I have the Hubitat app on my iPad. I found my way to your devices list and the first device I want to add is not in your public list of devices. So I went to the community list of private devices and I found the WeatherTech tempest Links. There is a separate link for the Tempest and one for the API. Can somebody please explain to me which one I should be clicking on? When I click on the first link which says Tempest I get several other links such as clicking on the code link. I am not a coder so I’m sorry if I’m in the wrong forum, but that was 800 lines of French to me. And then I scrolled down and clicked on the Get a token link. That brought me to a page to login to my Tempest account which I did. It was a new interface as it was accessing my Tempest account within hubitat. However, I could find no place to add it into my Hubitat devices, or to bring it into HomeKit. Can somebody please explain to me if I am looking for an app or am I looking for a device? And am I looking for an API or a driver? I’ve tried Hoobs and homebridge and both were too complicated for me. Am I wrong in thinking that hubitat should be for the masses? There is just no good direction here that I can find.