Help with Rules for Screens

I have 4 sets of French doors in a room with awning windows and automatic exterior screens. I have added security sensors to the awning windows. The screens are on a scheduled timer (Bond Hub) to close after Sun Rise. I wrote what I think is a correct rule to stop the automatic closing if the awnings are OPEN. I'd appreciate it if someone could look over the rule I wrote and tell me if there are any errors. Admittedly I am a novice at this.

Your Required Expression needs attention - right now, it's "[sensors] any open AND [sensors] any closed", which doesn't make sense.

If I'm understanding correctly, I think you want the Reqd Expression to instead just be "[sensors] all closed" -- if that's not true (i.e. any or all awnings are open), that would then make the Reqd Expression false so then the screens won't close at SR.

In the "Actions" section, does that "open" command mean that the screens will (in fact) close? That seems unintuitive, but I know those terms can get weird depending on the driver being used.

1 Like

I agree this doesn't seem right. I am definitely in deep water for my ability.

To start. I am unsure if I should base the rule on whether the awnings contacts are open or closed. Essentially I do not want the screens in the room to close if any awning (contact) is open.

I changed this to what I thought would work (see below) but it doesn't. I ran the rule and even though there were awnings open (contact open) the screens came down.

I appreciate the help.

As I mentioned earlier, I think the Reqd Expression should be "[sensors] all closed". Then if any (one, some, all) are open, the rule will not trigger.

1 Like

With this, you'll need to change your Required Expression to all contacts are closed not any. With any, all it takes is for one contact to be closed and the Required Expression becomes true even if all the others are open.