Help with flow for power meter

I started a rule in RM to watch my Aeotec Home Energy Monitor. The first part of the rule took the value of 'Power' from the monitor (which is updated every 30 secs) rounded it and copied it to a Hub Variable. It also took the 'Energy' value (updated every minute), rounded it and did some math to get the cost. It's a messy rule as each calculation is an additional operation. I wanted to try setting it up in node red instead but I'm struggling.

For the first part I'm just trying to round the value and write it back to a Hub Variable. The Hubitat device node is set as shown and the output is as below:

I want to round that 'value' or 'currentValue' and write it back to my Hub Variable (preferably appended with W) using the Command node:

Any pointers as to what node goes between the Device and Command nodes (function I guess?) and how to set it up? Apologies I'm brand new to node red so I'm struggling with the basics.

This is above my head, but I have had an Aeotec HEM updating every 5 seconds for the last couple months, lol.

I have no idea if this will help, or if you've already done this, but I had to change a bit of the driver code to get the values from string to number. Then, I at least, could do more stuff with readings.
This is on the Aeotec Home Energy Monitor 2 phase (Gen 5) driver.

1 Like

@velvetfoot - Mine already seems to output number rather than string. I used a driver that someone from Aeotec modified so not sure if we're using the same one.

I've managed to progress one small step. I found the node-red-contrib-calc and inserted that after my device node and set it as follows:

That rounds the value as I wanted but I can't get that rounded value to update the variable. I could do all of this in Rule Machine but I think it would be better to hand it off to node red if I can fathom out how.

1 Like