Help me think this through

Today, I learned I will be having a SmartRent SmartHome system installed within the next two weeks. Not real happy about this but unfortunately have no choice. @kosmicken started a thread about this system several years ago.

I really hate the thought of losing my current lock and thermostat automations so I'm trying to figure out what options I have for combining this Alloy Z-Wave Hub and Hubitat.

The Alloy Hub User's Guide has a section dealing with joining secondary controllers and joining other hubs as a secondary controller so I was thinking I could bring the Alloy Hub and it's devices into HE as a secondary controller. I've never done anything like that before so don't know if that's possible.

If it is, I wonder if that would change how the SmartRent service works. Would the lock and thermostat still be controllable from their stupid app? Would their water alerts still trigger action by maintenance and management? Am I denying maintenance immediate access.? Would SmartRent be able to see that their Alloy hub is a secondary controller?

I guess the first thing I need to do is find out if tampering with their system is a violation of my lease. LOL

Thanks for reading and I appreciate all suggestions!

1 Like

Not being a lawyer, I can't say for sure. If you have an existing lease and this new system is not a part of it, then I would think not. However, when the lease is renewed, you would need to read carefully to see if the new system is specified and the conditions you would be agreeing to by signing a new lease. Does your existing lease specify that changes such as adding this system can be done without both parties agreeing to it?