Haier Europe sends take down notice to HA developer

To receive a take down notice for an unofficial integration. While i’m fairly certain this could be fought as “fair use”, i’m also not a lawyer and it’s sad to see happening in general.

Here's Louis Rossmann with 2M subscribers talking about this:

1 Like

Such is the risk with unofficial, reverse-engineered cloud integrations--one reason I avoid them in general but especially for anything I'd consider important.

See also: MyQ. :slight_smile:

6 Likes

The alternative is not to have an integration at all, so I am not sure how it's better :slight_smile:

I find it hard to believe they could actually demonstrate that an unofficial, reverse-engineered integration like this damages them in a way that they’re entitled to anything in court.

But that’s probably besides the point, if they can scare a developer into doing what they say anyway.

Speaking of “what’s the point,” I wonder if they’ll send takedown notices to each of the hundreds of people that has forked the dev’s GitHub repo.

1 Like

Some law firm is getting lots of overtime. :laughing:

5 Likes

What is "it"? I didn't mention any specific alternatives. :slight_smile: It's just the nature of devices made like this. The only choices I see are to deal with it, find something else that works (smart plug? a competing product?), or try to convince the manufacturer to change their mind while we do one of the first two.

3 Likes

It's better to be healthy and wealthy than to be sick and poor :slight_smile:

If there is an option to prefer another vendor or product, it's the way to go. But with Haier, for example, it is not always possible.

I imagine how a conversation with my wife, "It's a great house, and I see you like it, but we won't gonna buy it because the heat pump there is Haier," will end.