First attempt with Node Red - Help with MQTT

I'm brand new to this so please be gentle! I'm trying to get Node-Red up and running. I've had limited success, stumbling along. I currently have an MQTT broker on my Pi. This receives topics published by my alarm system. For the last year I've been using those topics to switch virtual devices in HE to mirror my physical wired alarm devices. This was using a community MQTT app which is in beta. That's currently unsupported/has developed a bug so I'm wanting to set up Node-Red as an alternative as I'm currently unable to add more devices or edit existing devices in the current setup.

I've got Node-red installed on my Pi along with the Hubitat Palette which is configured and I managed to get a single virtual device switching a HE virtual device using the full topic path. However I have multiple individual devices in that path and I'm trying to avoid using multiple switches in the flow. This is the start of the flow:

The full path to the MQTT Lounge PIR is selfmon/vmod.010fbd/prio/inputs/read/1047 (1047 is the alarm device zone number) If I set the 'MQTT In' node with that full path including the specific zone:

And similarly with the 'Switch' as follows:

That works and switches the attached virtual device. However I want to shorten that topic path (to 'selfmon/vmod/.010fbd' and add outputs for multiple devices and states in that switch (so that I don't need an individual switch for EVERY MQTT device). I'm struggling with the topic path and syntax>. I've tried various combinations but nothing seems to work. Any ideas?

I suggest putting a Debug Node set to Complete Message Object. Then, trigger all of your MQTT devices and see what the debug message says.

That should help you with the syntax.