Developer detailed API documentation

Hi all,

I'm new with Hubitat. I'm Electronic Engineering with 10+ years on industrial automation.

I'm trying to start up a business with Home/Building automation and decided to go with Hubitat (after using ST at home for 2 years).

What I am finding a little bit frustrating is the lack of documentaiton on both Hubitat API (for developing Apps + Drivers) and Z Wave documentation (events, commands, parameters for devices).

I am convinced the problem is on my side and I'm not looking correctly, that's why I'm asking here for help on where to look for this information.

The question why I want this information is because, after so many years working on industrial automation, and trying to deliver a great product/service to my eventual clients, I wan't to go in detail to each driver/app I'm going to use and make sure I both understand and am confident with the quality of the code and that all features have been implemented.

Thanks for any help on tips where to look for this information.

2 Likes

This link is the Hubitat basic operational documentation.

https://docs.hubitat.com/index.php?title=Hubitat_Elevation_Documentation

In that data is the below link, which contains the specific api for Hubitat. Additionally, the programming language (groovy) provides the basic programming language.

https://docs.hubitat.com/index.php?title=Developer_Documentation

Dave

1 Like

Thanks Dave for the quick response.

I was already aware of those pages, but it looks quite incomplete, for instance, I cannot find a reference for methods such as switchMultilevelV2, sendEvent, etc.

Also, I cannot find a complete definition of z wave commands, capabilities, parameters, etc.