Contacting Someone When Alarm goes off

Hello everyone. I am new to the system, so I am trying to wrap my head around everything regarding messages. I come from Smarthtings.

So my question is, let's say my alarm goes off in the middle of the night. What's the best way to go about Notifying someone outside of people who are actually in the house. Say I wanted to contact my father, who lives at another house, and doesnt have the Hubitat app installed, or the Pushover app. Or any other app for that matter. I don't want to rely on the outside person having something installed on there phone, in fear they may delete the app.

I see SMS is no longer. I read a little about Pushover, but I think the app needs to be installed on other phone. Twilio, costs money, and I couldn't get it to work. What are my best options here.

It seems silly to only notify the people in the house, if the intruder is breaking into that house.

1 Like

That’s the problem with SMS, someone has to pay for the cost of sending the message, and I believe that’s why Hubitat was unable to continue offering a built-in solution for free.

Would email work? I haven’t tried any of them myself, but there’s at least one or two threads with a working solution for sending an email based on a Hubitat event.

Phone carriers have the ability to receive texts by email:

So you could send an email (which is free) to: your_dads_number@the carrier domain listed on that page

1 Like

I might be willing to pay for Twilio... But the pay scale is super confusing... And plus it wouldn't set up right, when I put the codes in, the phone number section just wouldn't pop up.

Email is no good.

Can't IFTTT make phone calls and send text messages? Been awhile since I used it but I seem to remember it doing that.

Hmm.. sounds interesting. I haven't used it in awhile either. I feel like I would of come across someone else saying it though.