Chromecast Integration no longer working

Sorry, noob here.

My Chromecast integration was working fine but has stopped. I recently upgraded my network hardware but I can't remember if it stopped working before that or not.

I'm using a Ubiquiti USG, switch and WiFi access points. My Hubitat is connected to the switch and I have 5 Google Home Assistant devices connected via WiFi. They are all discovered and appear in the device list.

Sometimes one of them will randomly start working but most of the time they don't and I get error messages in the logs like this:

dev:5462019-09-30 17:47:38.100 errorjava.lang.NullPointerException: Cannot invoke method setVolume() on null object (volumeUp)

dev:5462019-09-30 17:47:32.205 errorjava.net.NoRouteToHostException: No route to host (Host unreachable) (initialize)

Can anyone tell me what's going wrong?

Are you using a reserved address for them ? Most devices work much better when there IP address doesn't change.

I've set a static IP for my Hubitat but not my Google devices, I'll try that, thanks.

I use Ubiquiti device also, real easy to set IPs and manage the network. All of my home automation devices use reserved addresses especially Google and Lifx devices.

I've set static IPs and they're all working now except one. It just keeps saying it's buffering in the logs when I try to get it to announce something.

Use the "Chromecast Helper" app to ping them every 4 minutes. I've found that helps in my setup.

1 Like

I added that app, first community app I've added, however the Google device that isn't working still doesn't work when I initialize. I might try factory resetting it.

I've sometimes found it necessary to send a text string to the device to wake it up. Use that option in the device page and then tweak the volume and see if the page shows it responding to the volume changes. From then on mine seem to stay connected quite well.