Can hubitat scale to a lot of devices?

Hi there. I am considering moving to hubitat from Homeseer, where I have a large number of devices. Maybe 16 Zwave devices, about 40 zigbees, 6 thermostats, 30+ Google hubs, chromecast audios, and Nvidia shields, but a few hundred lutron QS lights, shades and occupancy devices.

I am more comfortable running on server OS as I am an IT professional, but Hubitat has a lot of great device and community support, and HS is having issues with their Google home integration now and can't seem to fix it.

Is Hubitat able to scale well and be really responsive for a portfolio of this size?

There is a limit to the # of z-wave per spec something like 232 or so (I think), Zigbee is limited to the amount of hub resources (with 32 end devices connected directly to each hub) and not sure about the Lutron stuff BUT the good news is you can go to a multi-hub configuration if necessary. You would use HubMesh for inter-hub communications OR set up a companion server like Node-RED as a master controller.

I have a 3 hub setup - C-4 for cloud/Lutron devices, C-5 for Zigbee devices and a C-7 for Z-Wave. I use Node-RED to handle all the rules and communications. Works great, keeps resource usage low on the hubs.

You can also set up multiple hubs by location instead of protocol type which I've done for a few of my residential clients and that works really well too. Note: for those use-cases it was due to devices being far enough out of range to make things unreliable (like for a detached garage) not the quantity of devices.

1 Like

I run almost exactly as @erktrek setup just different hub versions.

Zwave Hub
zwvave
Zigbee Hub
zigbee
Wifi/Lutron/Sonos/Virtual Devices/Pretty much everything else hub.
wifi

All being ran into Node Red for rules and communication.