C8 Migration without cloud protect

Hi guys, I just performed a C7 migration backup on version 2.3.5.105 and shut down C-7 hub. After that I login on C* to restore the cloud backup and no cloud backup is shown.

On my C7 backup listing I see a type "migration" backup being listed and not "cloud"... what is wrong here?

I'm not a cloud protect subscriber...

Did you register the new hub with the same email? That is needed to see the migration backup.

Yes, I did... Both hubs show correctly on my.hubitat.com

I'm noticing that the migration documentation says the migration backup type is "cloud". But looks like something changed that the migration backup is now created as "migration" type.

Probably the C8 listing only lists "cloud" backup instead of "migration" type? I guess I found a bug..

The step 4 in the documentation you've posted is now incorrect... The backup type is now "migration", instead of "cloud".

You could always set up the C-8 as a new hub, then once you get the UI go to Settings > Backup and Restore and find it there. Unless you are already there? Then maybe you need to do a soft reset to get back to the "new hub" migration UI.

I've done the 2 approaches above @jtp10181 . The thing is both the wizard or the "normal" restore page don't show the "migration" backup type... I really think this is a bug to list the migration created backups since they are not from "cloud" type anymore.

It's migration if you don't have Hub Protect on the source hub, and cloud if you do.

1 Like

Are both hubs updated to 2.3.5.105? I know they made some changes with the migration backups, not sure if that would prevent the C8 from seeing the backup if it was not updated?

There are A LOT of people migrating right now, have not seen this issue wide spread.

I'm stuck... Migration backup type is not being listed, not sure what to do next.

Yes, both hubs had the same 2.3.5.105 matching when I created the migration backup.