C-8 will not stay connected to network

I have to admit, I’m a Hubitat user from 2019 and this C-8 has been the worst experience I’ve had with home automation since I began in 2012.

Alright, so first it was the Wi-Fi issues. Both of my hubs are back on Ethernet with statically assigned DHCP addresses.

After a few days I experienced the same disconnect and required reboot to get them connected again.

Then I turned on the ping router function that pings the router every 30 seconds.

Then I went out of town for a few days and was surprised that I had not been receiving notifications as I normally do.

Checked my router and both have been offline for two days.

I’m a network engineer / developer and my career has been in DevOps. I have nearly 100 devices connected to my router at any given time. This is not an issue with my network and I may move back to my C-7 and send these C-8s back. Never had issues with my C-7.

This is the third thread of problems I’ve created where before I never had done so.

I hope an engineer contacts me and we can debug this together. At this point that seems to be the only way I’m willing to keep these units.

Tagging @support_team from Hubitat.

One of the recent updates has a fix for Wifi disconnects due to power management settings.

Have you done a network reset on the hubs since switching back to ethernet? Small hole on the bottom of the hub. If you have not done that I would try it just to clear out and reset the network settings. That has helped some other people with connection problems.

Also, if you have any sort of DNS blocking or restrictions on your network, it has been suggested to use the DNS override on the network settings to specifically set your allowed DNS server. I guess in some cases the hub is not using the DHCP DNS server, and reverting to some sort of default, which if getting blocked may cause issues.

Other than that not sure why they would be disconnecting.

1 Like