Best motion sensor on battery?

I currently have the aeotec multisensor 6 for motion on battery

Is there anything better than this ? Focus is motion , secondary is detecing light

I am looking for what detects motion the fastest while on battery

Enviroment
I currently only have Inovelli redline dimmers and color bulbs

1 Like

I've no experience with that particular motion detector. However, I've found the Dome and Fibaro motion sensors to be fast.

On the zigbee side the Iris v2 and v3 motion detectors are quick.

4 Likes

I have a couple of the aeotec devices
For speed I recommend zigbee rather than z-wave
I use a lot of the smartthings motion sensors.
Not the cheapest but they have been very reliable for me

When I need lux sensing to, I use the hue motions sensors directly connected to HE
(No hue bridge needed)

Andy

6 Likes

can I automate with these as sensors within HE ? My undertanding HE can not see HUE switches or dimmers

I have Hue, but the bulbs I am using the motion / lux sensing with will be zwave bulbs

When connected to HE (not the hue bridge) they appear as any other sensor (except most do not have lux sensing)

This can then be used in any app or RM rule to turn on any type of light or switch
(zigbee, z-wave or any other)

Andy

2 Likes

Btw, I have a number of hue dimmers connected to HE directly (not via the bridge)
They seem to work quite well as I have an app that I created to use them

Andy

3 Likes

Like how secondary? Willing to use a separate device for lux? As others have already mentioned, you have a lot more options with motion-only sensors, and zigbee sensors tend to be fast. But other than the Hue sensors that Andy mentioned, I can't think of another popular zigbee motion sensor that also does lux.

1 Like

I am ok if I have to use 2 different sensors. The foyer area is the primary area where I would use two. I am ok with it

I value motion speed more than anything.