Aeotec doorbell/siren vs Ecolink siren

I have been using an Aeotec Gen 5 doorbell/siren for many years. I recently obtained an a Ecolink siren that has similar capabilities. I can use Basic Rules with the Aeotec device to trigger custom message files by using Speak Notification. Although the Ecolink siren funtions in a similar manner it does not appear as a selectible device for such notifications. I figured out how to activate the Ecolink siren using Rule Machine, but doing so will require me to convert 45 Basic Rules over to Rule Machine. That is a lot of effort for something that should be as simple as adding another device to my existing basic rules since the Aeotec and Ecolink devices are so similar.

Is there any way to make the Ecolonk siren show up as a notification device?

@bcopeland wrote the driver.

I've only had mine for a few days and just finished up swapping it in pre existing automations

Were your automations in Rule Machine or Basic Rules?

All Rule Machine

Is this the siren you're talking about?

Ecolink Zwave Plus Network Security Siren SC-ZWAVE5-ECO

ISZW7-ECO is the part number of the new one.

2 Likes

I figured out how to do it in rule machine, but I was hoping the Ecolink siren would be recognized by Basic Rules. For every contact sensor and motion sensor in my home I have a simple automation set up in the format:

If the "back door contact sensor opens" trigger the sound file that says "The back door has opened". In Basic Rules, that is quite simple to accomplish. I have 45 messages programmed into my Aeotec and trigger each of them using that format. I would like to do the same thing with Ecolink, but Basic Rules does not acknowledge the Ecolink Siren as a device under any of the device categories.