Adding Hubitat control to an RF device (Cellular Shades)

I have a few "Dumb' Motorised blinds around the house that I would love to find a solution for.

The blinds are battery operated and work via an RF remote.

The remote
Hunter Douglas Window Fashions* IF/RF Remote Control kit RC4U2
Looks like it transmits at 2.433 - 2.471 ghz

User Manual

If you can get access to the wires, a dry contact relay might be able to get you what is needed to control them. Zooz makes one which has 3 outputs

Perhaps a bit overkill but it’d get you there

I have a couple of extra remotes and would love to give it a try if anyone is interested in assisting...I'm a complete Noob but am game to learn for sure.

I have a couple of curtains that use RF remotes and do this through a Broadlink RM4 as it can control IR and a lot of RF devices. Do be aware that just because they use RF that a device like a broadlink may not support the protocol that runs over it. I've run into that before, so there's a possibility it might not work. There are a couple of Broadlink to Hubitat options available on these forums.

A fun project was a window opener I have uses encoded IR, which is a pain as the Broadlink cannot help. With that I've opened up the remote and use a Raspberry Pi Zero with a dry relay hat that shorts the switches in the remote. Shows anything is possible.

1 Like

I think the frequency maybe incorrect, RF is typically 345 or 415 IIRC?
If so the broadlink rm pro can work.

EDIT-I was WRONG. Holy cow, I've never seen a home RF device use that frequency,so it's some kind of Wifi, likely a proprietary band maybe? There are some radio engineers on here, so I'll stop blabbering

Ya...its been a head scratcher to me for sure.

When I first started researching I was super surprised that a solution did not readily exist.

I've seen the Broadlink and also the Bond hubs...Neither unfortunately support this freq.

1 Like