Add a lights hub to hubitat - Newbie

Hi everyone!

I am completely new to IOT. I just bought a Hubitat and I am waiting for its arrival. I am reading as much as possible before that and there is something I don't quite understand.

In the howto make a zigby mesh it says that there should be a separate network for light bulbs. Reading in the forum i just saw a topic in which an user advised to have ikea tradfri bulbs through a hub different from hubitat, and then link this one to hubitat.

I do not understand this. How can I link bulbs with another hub, and not hubitat, and then link the other hub to hubitat? How it it done in the web app? Maybe there is a tutorial i am missing but i can't see anything about that.

Thanks in advance!

Mario

Zigbee bulbs in general don't repeat very well and cause mesh issues. Hue light bulbs for example... There are Zigbee bulbs that do not act as repeaters that would work fine. As for linking hubs there is an app you can install to control multiple hubs called HubConnect.

The Hue hub connects to Hubitat through the hue integration app and the hue hub acts as a bridge to the devices that are connected to it.

In general its usually more cost effective to buy switches to control the lights for normal lighting and just use RGB in specific locations. Just remember that any smart bulbs you buy should have the switch left in the on position and controlled with triggers or automatons.

3 Likes

I’ll add that many people, myself included, buy a second Hubitat hub for Zigbee bulbs. It’s probably not necessary if you only have a few of them, but I have 70 RGBW bulbs. Buying a second hub and moving my Sylvania bulbs to that was so much cheaper than replacing them with Hue or Sengled that it was a no-brainer.

2 Likes

To add to the above, the general answer to this specific question: