Zwave device add stuck in init

Sorry for the newbie here but Im migrating from my Wink hub to the HE. During setup I have 3 Zwave products added but after this any device I try to add (after exclude) goes to initializing and sits there. Now I cant seem to get past the device init screen.
Any ideas would be appreciated.

I've heard rebooting the hub (via the menu, do not just pull the plug!) can help.

3 Likes

Just curious, what version of HE are you running? I used to have this problem a lot but haven't had it with recent firmware. That being said I also added a lot more devices at first (migrating from Smartthings) than I have in recent months.

Factory reset the device. Then do a general exclusion on it. Then power cycle the device for 30 seconds. Then try to include it again.

Do not try to include immediately and exclusion. Always wait at least 30 seconds between steps.

Version is 2.1.9.117. I tried update from app but says it is at newest yet I’m reading this blog where some are saying version 2.22.xxxx is available. Where do I download newer versions ?

Thanks I’ll try this today .
However, This may be a solution for a new start but with many smart devices I wouldn’t be thinking this is a solution after they are all attached.?

You need to make sure Z-wave devices forget their previous associations. Some will do this easily with an exclusion, some will not, even though they are supposed to. Some manufacturers will recommend a factory reset after exclusion, while many will only recommend it if the controller is inoperable or no longer available, because you have to reprogram special device features when you do that

I do it even on a new out if the box device as a matter of course. If you do, you improve your chance of success and smooth sailing. So why not? A bit of device configuration to possibly lose, but a hopefully stable device that joins easily is what you are trying to gain in return. Seems a fair trade-off.

Good advice thanks.