Z-Wave Associations vs Rule Machine/Simple Lighting

I'm porting over the Leviton VRCZ4 driver to Hubitat from Smarthings. The existing driver depends on the VRCZ4 having z-wave associations to the loads it is controlling. I have this working ok, but kludged up to configure the associations.

So I have a question, looking at how @mike.maxwell did the VRCS4 driver it looks like it doesn't depend on associations, but rather to use it you configure things with something like Rule Machine or Simple Lighting. So I'm trying to decide what's "best" for a driver, to use something like the Inovelli z-wave association tool to configure associations, or change the driver to work more like the VRCS4 driver where you configure behavior via Rule Machine or Simple Lighting.

Words of wisdom? Thanks. Once the VRCZ4 is done then VRCZ1 is next. I'm relatively new to the Hubitat environment so not sure if there is a preferred approach.

Sometimes it will depend on the device and whether or not it passes enough information to an associated node. For example, I ported the Aeotech WallMote which boasts 6 or 8 or 12 or something "scenes". I can't remember the number. At any rate, it counted swipe up on each of the buttons as a separate scene because it was a separate association group.

Unfortunately, if you don't associate a node to that group and you associate the hub's node instead the message that comes from the device is the same for every single one of the swipe ups and then there is a different message for all of the swipe downs. So instead of having:

• Button 1 Swipe Up - Message A to Group 1
  • Button 2 Swipe Up - Message A to Group 2

I had:

• Button 1 Swipe Up - Message A to Hub
  • Button 2 Swipe Up - Message A to Hub

And even though it was two different buttons that could have gone to two different nodes from the hub the difference was indiscernible because there was nothing about the initiating button in the actual payload of the message.