YAAAT (Yet Another Add Alexa Thread)

please, I beg your forgiveness for this....but I'm just getting started with Hubitat and have not done any other home automation. we have Alexa, Ring, Arlo, Hue (just got), lots of Kasa (TP-Link), Wyze, and a few others. Don't ask. But here we are.
So I get my Hubitat and get it set according to the directions.
Then, I want to get started so I figured I'd start with an easy one - Alexa. I read the documentation a few times, watch the video (or 3)...and off we go.
I add Alexa App.
I do the amazon echo skill (never installed app).
devices list only shows mobile phone (!?). I search the forum to see who else had this and one person had the same issue - it only shows the mobile phone. We have probably a dozen Alexa devices. That thread the OP was told Alexa wasn't supported or something similar.

I then proceed to activate Hubitat skill in Alexa
It found & I selected hub.
again no devices listed (no surprise since we didn't see them earlier).

clicked authorize
clicked discover. nada.

repeat several times. Zilch.

what can't Hubitat "see" my alexa devices?

For the record, today I took out my Hue light strip (new out of box so never before paired) and Hubitat found it quickly. Not sure what to do with it yet but that's for another day.

HE doesn't see your Alexa devices. The Echo skill lets Amazon see your HE devices.

For example, you open the Echo skill in HE and add one of your lights to the Echo skill, When you click done you should then see that device now listed in your devices on the Alexa APP. You can now tell Alexa to turn that light on or off.

2 Likes

The only app that I know of that adds Echo devices to HE is Echo Speaks.

3 Likes

I think we've identified the issue. :wink:

1 Like

thank you for the replies. I'm definitely turned around about what I thought HE was, and could do.
I watch the videos about adding Alexa to HE and all these devices appear. I'm still not able to resolve that in my mind.