Will a WIFI emitter affect HE like it does Simplisafe?

Just read this article and was wondering if our system can be similarly affected?

1 Like

I don't see why not. If you jam the frequencies used for wireless sensor communication, things aren't going to trip. I have some experience with testing this on other types of wireless security sensors, and it's totally possible. There's no reason the same concepts wouldn't apply to the 2.4ghz range for Zigbee or Wifi sensors, and the 900mhz range for Z-wave devices. My testing was on different frequency ranges, which included sensor to panel communication, as well as wireless communication to the monitoring station. (I work in security... paid to be paranoid)

This is one of the reasons that I don't feel that a home automation system is a good security system platform. If you want a security system, get an actual security panel (I prefer Elk Products) and wire your sensors in as much as possible. EOL resistors make it much harder for people to bypass sensors also, and the values of these differ between vendors. For this reason, it's NOT a good idea to put a sign out clearly advertising what brand of panel you have, although most alarm installers put the EOL resistors on the panel side, which does nothing. Alarm your upper windows (almost no one does this, so it's a common entry point), put in motion sensors, put in pressure sensors under the floor (or even under your roof sheathing).