WHY - Hubitat don't use graphic interface?

Hello
Why Hubitat don't use graphic interface, like scratch?
is useful if you need to guide the user like hubitat do, but is faster and easyer..
What do you think?

If you want something like that to make rules I suggest you look into Node-Red. You will however need a local machine to host it on, it does not run on the hub itself.

As for why Rule Machine, as I understand it one of the founders of Hubitat had created the original Rule Machine app as a custom user app on Smart Things but it was having issues due to the cloud system. So that was one of the catalysts to make a hub with fully local processing.

5 Likes

I think the owners have acknowledged the UI isn't the best. I've been running node red for a while which is cool, although I do spend too much time making my flow look pretty instead of practical

6 Likes

Yep. 100% agreement on that.

1 Like

I use visio for a living so its my thing. The flow method is a great way to automate though. Although it's a little complex on node red getting all the nodes

1 Like

Hubitat never said the UI is not the best, we said that may not be the friendliest for some users. However, the current UI is the best at rendering the Groovy backend. Making it "friendlier" would mean adding a new front-end layer much like what WebCore, Node-RED and other interfaces are offering.

7 Likes

For my needs, I don't need current apps, like Rule Machine, to have an additional layer to make it "pretty", especially if that additional layer is going to consume CPU cycles. Personally, I find the Scratch interface (shown in the first post) confusing to work with.

With that said, I think it would be worthwhile revisiting the appearance of Dashboards, which should translate to a new UI for the mobile apps.

7 Likes

I'm a crusty old dinosaur who prefers command-line in linux, and wants a simple editor to enter code. I'm probably in the minority...

6 Likes