What type of connector for Sylvania Zigbee strips?

My project is the lighting of each glass shelve in an IKEA DETOLF display case

I am about to order two Sylvania starter kits for a lighting project. I would really appreciate some assistance on the connectors for the light strips.

I need to cut the strips in 1 foot sections for each shelf. Each 1 foot strip will go into the top front of the cabinet. I am wondering how to connect each strip to the controller?

Does anyone have a recommendation for a connector type that has a long enough wire to go to each strip on the five shelves of the display case?

The link above provides an image of the case with dimensions.

This is my first time working with LED light strips.

YF

As far as I know, there is not a way to cut and splice the Sylvania strips. Unlike others, these do not have the five wires running parallel throughout.

Of course, Sylvania does sell shorter lengths and extension kits but that gets real pricey real fast.

Do you know if they have 12" starter kit? I cannot seem to find one. I searching Amazon as I am not sure who else sells these.

No, unfortunately I'm only finding 24" expansions.

Dang. Well, I am open to other options. I am trying do a U shape with two corner connectors so the light is in the front and two sides on each shelf. I prefer Zigbee, but I can work with Z-wave if I have to. I am looking for plug and play. No soldering.

YF

If you happen to come up with a solution, I'd be interested as I have a multi shelf china cabinet I'd like to do. I did my kitchen under cabinet lighting with the sylvanias, A 20' run with a stove vent hood and a protruding corner ended up using the full length starter kit, an extension kit, and a flex connector kit. I won't be doing that again!

I will post my solution here, assuming I figure it out.
YF

1 Like