Warning Light when a Garage Door is Open (subtitled: A Tale of 2 Greyhounds)

First post (my brief profile at the end), and I'm thrilled to be a part of this community!

Goal: Use RM3, Z-Wave Plus garage door tilt sensors, and Z-Wave Plus appliance module (attached to an LED lamp) to alert me (read: continually flash the LED lamp) if either / both garage doors are open.

Solution:

Results: This seems to work fine, but I feel like I "lucked into" this solution. The kitchen lamp flashes if either garage door is open, and turns off when both garage doors are closed.

Concern: Is this an effective / efficient way to accomplish this? I'm new to RM3 (and not a coder); I don't understand how this actually works... I thought I would need triggers to accomplish this. Does anyone have any feedback? I'm probably over-thinking this.

Flavor Text: We have 2 greyhounds that get to their fenced in back yard by going through the garage. Before I open the door that leads from our kitchen to the garage, I need to ensure that both garage doors are closed (or else they'll bolt... it's happened once and I don't want it to happen again). This solution is improving our quality of life. :heart:

Brief Profile: I've been into home automation for about 15 years (HomeSeer, I then simplified things with Wink Hub / Wink Hub 2, now Hubitat). All of my devices are Z-Wave / Z-Wave Plus... several appliance / dimming modules, some Leviton light switches, and garage door tilt sensors. I also have several Ring devices, a Honeywell smart thermostat, SimpliSafe, 3 Alexa devices, and I really appreciate the Life360 integration for keeping my Hubitat Mode updated.

Thanks for any thoughts / insight...

1 Like