Using iPhone as a presence sensor

Hi everyone - I'm relatively new to Hubitat and have been using my iPhone as a presence sensor. I have Mode Manager installed, the location is set under location and modes, and I have HSM set to arm the alarm when I depart from the geofenced area.

The problem I am having is that the alarm gets armed sporadically while I'm still home because Hubitat thinks I've left. Are there any solutions for this? Any place I should check as to why Hubitat thinks I'm no longer present?

Quick answer is that the iPhone will let the WiFi sleep, which then makes the presence sensor rely on GPS, and then triangulation from cell towers. Accuracy is best when you have WiFi + GPS, okay with GPS, and poor when limited to triangulation.

Most people will utilize 2-3 different presence methods and then use an app like Combined Presence Sensor for use with their automations.

1 Like

what other ways are there to detect presence? I am also very interested in setting presence up correctly.

There are key fobs that can be used for presence, like the Smartthings Presence key fob (getting hard to find). I believe others also makes some but don't know of any off the top of my head. I've heard of others that have been using a regular sensor that they place in there car and when it get's home, they will use any reporting from the sensor as being present.

But you have to know that the key fobs use up batteries real fast and many people are put off from this limitation.

Motion sensors work too, combine via the combined presence app with your phone.

Basically, the more combined, the better particularly if you are tying HSM actions to presence. For that though I'd really just recommend manually arming/disarming when you leave, otherwise I suspect you'll still get the occasional mis-arming of your alarm system.