Two Years and Totally Satisfied but

It was June 2022, when I dumped Vera and jumped to Hubitat. Before Vera, I had IRIS, which is what got me hooked on the whole smart home to begin with.
During the last 24 months, I have not had a single crash, or hiccup, or issue. It has been totally dependable. Unfortunately, the previous hubs which were cloud based, were continuously sending messages that it was offline, or updating, and dropping devices, etc.
I'm purchasing the full HE subscription going forward so I can have regular backups, etc, and eventually migrate to the new hub.
I just wish the developers would include the "live log" as and option on the dashboard. It was a feature, on the IRIS dashboard that truly provided beneficial information at a glance. The Hub is already compiling the data and storing it, shouldn't be a problem opening a window in the dashboard reflecting the last 10 or so entries. I'm not a programmer but I'm sure it can be done with little to no impact to the HUB.
Michael

5 Likes

Hmmm might be able to be done, but currently would have to respect the 1024 character limit if you wanted to access it from off the local network.

Edit: Looks like it would take an external device to capture the logs and return them - hub doesn't allow connecting to a websocket as a receiver ony as the transmitter.

1 Like

I have a Hubitat driver that captures the data from Live Logging and then sends it to a InfluxDB Database. That potentially could be modified to store the last x number for records possibly. The problem then would be to how do you get that data on the new dashboards. Well, The cpu usage impact as well could be a concern.

It would be better if there was just a live logging tile that looked at the same Live logging data stored on the hub. If I recall it is just a flat file.

Could reroute it to version of the Notification Tile

1 Like

Hey thanks for your input! The data is already there, so a tile to pull it for display shouldn't be a big deal.