Turn ON lights by motion sensor

Hello.

Trying to automate some bathroom lights, I searched for help here and thanks to @csteele I managed to make this, in with Basic Rules.
Now, because I want to "elevate" my rules, I got the need to make them in Rule Machine.
So, I wanted to translate one fully functional Basic Rule, into the Rule Machine. It looks like I am not such a good programmer (I am a mechanic, therefore I could be excused), because the lights do not behave as in the Basic Rule.

Can someone be so kind and help a fool like me?

Here is the Basic Rule:

And here are the Rules Machine I have tried:
Torn ON
ScreenHunter_06 Apr. 08 13.51

Turn OFF
ScreenHunter_07 Apr. 08 13.51

What have I done wrong, except the fact that I put the waiting time 10 sec instead of 1 min?
Basically this is the reason I want to move in the Rule Machine, to be able to turn OFF sooner.

Thank you.

Try something like this:

The "wait for" steps will cancel if your event fires again so it will start over if it goes active->inactive->active within the 1 minute

As well here is my setup, turns the lights on, waits for either motion to stop or start again and either turns lights off or keeps them on.

Image2

Thank you @jcarreira.

I made it like this and it works. It works with 1 min elapsed time for "wait for event".

My Aqara sensor, can trigger the next Active event, only after 45 sec after turning INACTIVE.
Therefore if I wait less than that, it does not work properly.

I was mislead by the behavior of Sonoff sensor (previously used in the same location), which stays ACTIVE one minute, but is able to trigger immediately after.

One important lesson learned: "know your sensor behavior, before any programming"

Thank you very much for your help. :+1:

1 Like

Thank you, @dpdurst.

I have tried your proposal. It works fine.
A different and nice approach, too.

1 Like

@jcarreira, @dpdurst you turned "my light" ON.