Trying to decide-- a few n00b questions

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum. I'm a tech industry lawyer who is pretty savvy, but not a programmer and not long on time. I'm looking at trying to centralize my various IOT devices in a single place and I've narrowed down to Hubitat or SmartThings. (Home Automation gets rave reviews from the engineers I know, but I don't have the time to build and debug a Raspberry Pi.) Main limiting factor is that I have a Honeywell WiFi (not ZWave) thermostat that I need to integrate. It's supposedly compatible by linking with SmartThings, but in testing their app, it keeps disconnecting, so they lost what edge they had. I found a script on GitHub to link Hubitat to it via cloud, so I'm pretty close to pulling the trigger on a starter kit here.

A few lingering questions:

1. I've got a couple other devices (mostly outlets) here and there. One in particular, is a Meross outdoor plug that I would like to keep because it fits a specific need. From reading that appears to be possible through IFTTT. My question is how does that work using IFTTT? Is it through a cloud link or integration with a cloud account? These are for outdoor decorative lights, so a minute or so delay in executing a command is not a big deal. Would this integration something straight forward, or something prone to failure? (The plug does not appear to be flashable, FYI.)
  2. I read over the documents on the Honeywell TCC integration and it seems like it finally works pretty well. Any additional experience here would be helpful.
  3. I have a few other WiFi plugs that appear to be flashable with Tasmota. Yeah, understood that flashing is always a bit of a risk, but anyone's experience with success rate would be helpful. (FWIW, the two in particular are Topgreener plugs someone gave me with energy monitoring which are cool, but honestly, I'm willing to replace them if they don't work because I want fewer apps.)