TOFTT: Zigbee LED Strip Lights

Caveat: I'm pretty new to Hubitat HE, about two weeks I think. But I'm about the oldest old-dawg in the junkyard; I started on BSR X10, was a regular author in a national home automation magazine, and wrote a highly popular add-in for HomeSeer years ago and for SmartThings around four years ago, which others wound up supporting in a variety of platforms.

And now I'm here.

After my fairly-aggressive migration (I was so over SmartThings developer-antagonism, outages and the mobile app making me switch browsers), my first "project" was LED Strip Lights between the valence and windows of our picture windows. Seems simple enough... LED strips, a controller, a transformer, done.

Umm... not so much.

Challenge #1: Hubitat HE ain't quite where the class leaders are on device discovery. I started with a Giderwel / Gledopto RGBCCT 2-ID Controller and strip ... and quickly learned that HE couldn't find both SSIDs. (Other hubs apparently can.) And, per @mike.maxwell, the device support queue is long enough that this won't be supported anytime soon.

Okay, fine, switch it out. The Gledopto kit had all-in-one, but moving on, word is that RGBGenie is the best supported non-Hue option. Sylvania/Osram also, but less revered and far more expensive. So...

I bought an RGBGenie 1005 Zigbee, a few RGB+W strips and a transformer.

Challenge #2: Guess what? Word on the street is optimistic. The Zigbee RGBGenie controller cannot control white, while the Z-Wave can. (Mike's opinion on colorspace is not, apparently, reflected by Giderwel or by RGBGenie.) Oh well... would've been nice to know up-front, but sometimes you are the pioneer with the wounds in the back.

Oh well, no worries, I wanted it for illumination anyhow. Onward!