Timed functions with Rules Manager

I'm a newbie and having a hard time getting my head wrapped around the process of creating time related rules in Rule Machine. This is not time of day rules. It is rules related to time between events. All signals and controls are working. I'm just unable to figure out the rules needed for timing. I will try to follow this up with a picture of a flow diagram in a comment that describes what I'm trying to do. Thank you so much for your help.

1 Like

You can use Wait for Condition Return Temp >= 85 with timeout of 2 minutes for the crux portion of this. Only allowing it to trigger every 15 minutes is a separate issue.

Trigger Event: Illuminance > 20
Actions:
   IF(Private Boolean false) Exit rule
   Set Private Boolean false
   Set Private Boolean true Delayed 15 minutes
   On: Recirc Pump
   Delay Actions 10 seconds
   Wait for Condition Return Temp > 85 Timeout 2 minutes
   Off Recirc Pump

The first 3 lines of the Actions implement the 'only trigger every 15 minutes' portion. Private Boolean starts out true, so the first time this triggers it sets it to false, then back to true 15 minutes later. Any trigger event in the interim is just going to exit the rule.

The Wait for Condition will be satisfied after 2 minutes or the return temp exceeding 85, whichever happens first. Then the pump is turned off.

There is one possible problem with this as written above: The Wait for Condition will be cancelled if the rule is retriggered during that two minute period. And the pump would stay on... There is a way around that problem. See next post.

1 Like

Amazing. I can see why I wasn't getting my head around this. It is not obvious to me how to get here. But this should get me started. Now to figure out how to load it in. I think I read something earlier today... Thank you!

1 Like