Time thresholds (if door is open for 5 minutes, etc...) for rules in RM4?

So RM4 has been a mystery for me. I am a programmer, and engineer and RM4 is just a wacky thing compared to how straightforward RM1 -3 was.

So I have some simple things I need to get done with some new rules. Like "If a door is open for 5 minutes send me a notification" I was able to do this in the other RMs easily, but in RM4 I have no idea how to set that. I see the triggers and actions and see the conditionals for actions (which is a bit confusing because I would think we would want conditionals on a trigger, but... that's just me)...

I read the documentation but I seem to be missing something... I cant seem to find a way to do something like that where it canceles the action if the door is closed in that 5 minute span. Also setting up something to keep repeating the notification every 5 - 10 minutes if it is left open. This now seems pretty convoluted, or some different logic flow than I was used to.

You'd need something like this:

Trigger:

Contact sensor *changed*

Actions:

IF ( Contact sensor closed ) THEN
    Cancel Delayed Actions
ELSE
    Log Sensor is open -> delayed 0:05:00 (cancelable)
END-IF
5 Likes

Also note that if this is all you want, the built-in Notifications app can do this with a lot less work. (It can't do the repeating notification example, so you'd still need something else like Rule Machine for that.)

3 Likes

Thanks guys! This did help. For me having the logic in the actions and not in the trigger is what confused me a bit! This is definitely pretty geeked out logic/coding, I can see how people get intimidated by this platform a bit :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I've got a similar problem with RM and seem to be going around in circles.
I have contact sensors on the 2 pantry doors that I want to turn on a wifi bulb with a 3 minute timer to turn off the bulb if the doors are not closed but turn off the bulb if the 2 doors are closed before the 3 mins are up.