Thermostatic Radiator Valve - Recommendations

Dear Community,

I'm new to this forum, new to home automation & general - this is my first post. A small intro: I'm an engineer in northern Germany, have an old house with a big garden & small children. I am not looking for a new hobby but for a solution that works reliably without too much hassle.

After purchasing the euro version of hubitat I am trying to decide which protocol to use. We live in a big old house with thick walls so I don’t want to build two meshes. There appear to be ample devices for nearly all tasks but for the control of heater radiators. So I guess the TRV will drive my decision.

I found only the following three and would be thankful for some advice:

1. The bang bang controller driven by mains power as developed by @djh_wolf is certainly a cool hack. Cudos!
    I would like to have the ramps a thermostat provides & cannot conveniently bring mains to the radiators. So this one is not for me.
  2. Fibaro FIBEFGT-001 is mentioned as supported device out-of-the-box. I find it expensive and have read somewhere online that the firmware has been updated & am thus not sure of 100% compatibility.
  3. @mark.cockcroft, @psyvision & others have worked on a custom driver for the Tuya Zigbee TRV. After what I've read they certainly deserve praise for the effort invested & their results. To me this appears as a relatively inexpensive solution. Searching online I remained uncertain on which device to exactly order. I'm worried I'll pick the almost but not exactly right one and thus waste time & money. I'm also (probably incorrectly) concerned that my girls adjusting the thermostat manually might not be handled gracefully in the end.

Additionally, after the heating season, I would like to smarten-up the controller of our wall heating (basically a vertical floor heating). I've found only a Z-Wave controller: Heatit Z-Water - Heatit