Temperature / Humidity Sensors

In my quest to get rid of user drivers and unsupported devices, I have a question on temperature and humidity sensors.

Are there any recommended by Hubitat / known to work with in-box drivers. Battery powered.

1. Aeotec multisensors are an option, but I've found battery life to be sub-par, and they are big. Ugly on the wall, unless you recess mount, but then it is even MORE expensive (and a lot of drywall cutting). Expensive.
  2. NYCE NCZ-3041-HA. On supported list, but I have no experience with battery life (specs say 'up to' 5 years though - encouraging). Expensive, but I could be convinced if battery life is good. Do you have any of these @mike.maxwell ? I know you're a NYCE lover. Supported list says it is a "Garage Door (Tilt) Sensor", but does the in-box driver report temp & humidity, too, from the device?
    EDIT: Never mind, I see it does in another thread (even if humidity and temp don't report units... :slight_smile:) .
  3. Monoprice Mutlisensor. Unknown size, Good price. Unknown battery performance, but it looks a lot like the v1 Zooz 4-in-1 w/AA batteries. Those has many reports of bad battery life.
  4. Zooz 4-in-1 v2. Size unknown (@agnes.zooz is there a published size for these? I didn't see it in the manual. EDIT: Found it on another web search: * Dimensions: 2.25" x 2.25" x 1") . Good price. Unknown battery performance, but many complaints on a quick google search (although it is a little hard to tell v1 vs v2 complaints in some of the threads).

Other?

2 Likes

I personally love the NYCE sensors. Extremely fast and reliable motion sensors with accurate temp and humidity readings. I have a few of the Ceiling motion sensors and they are perfect. Of all of the devices I have these are the best motion sensors and well worth their cost.

2 Likes