Switch off on its on, need to automate

HI, Had an incident the other day whereas one of my plug-in outlet switches (Leviton z-wave plug-in outlet), where i have my wifi master node is connected to, has turned off on its own. Have it setup so i can remote restart it if needed. The only thing in the log is this:

2024-02-01 01:26:37.324 AMinfoLinksys master outlet was turned off [digital]

So i have two questions, , one is anywhere else i can look to see what potentially has triggered it? And two, how can i best automate the cycle back to on, in the even this happens again, is it as easy as just creating a basic rule, to turn the switch back on when it detects off? Or maybe a better way?

Thanks

Yes, the Events page for the device will show you both events (which should correspond to your log entry above, though they are technically separate) and commands (a relatively recent addition and what you'd really want to see to tell if an app on your hub told the device to do something). The doc I linked to explains the difference, but to summarize, you'd be looking for something like "command-off" right before your "off" event.

If you don't see that, it's possible the device did it on its own for some reason. I'm not familiar with your particular device, but reasons this could happen in general include:

• an "auto off" setting on the device (e.g., a Z-Wave parameter to turn off after a certain amount of time on)
  • an overload (sometimes there is also a setting for this, but I wouldn't be surprised if some just do it when something exceeds its specs)
  • a dying/defective device

This seems like it would work, though maybe you'd want to add something like a notification so that if this keeps happening, you can be aware of it more easily.

3 Likes

The digital reference in the log would suggest it came from HE.... As opposed to physical

1 Like

Thanks Folks for your replies!