Suggestion for HPM Developer Doc and HPM Packages

I'm a newbie developer on HE. I have no experience with github and json operations. I just migrated from Vera, which required me to develop a custom device driver for my Hikvision cameras that I released yesterday by posting it in the Custom Drivers category.

Now I want to get my driver into Community using HPM. But the doc came up short. It assumes I am a developer who is well versed in json and issuing various requests. I could not get past the first step using this doc.

It wasn't until I went to (i.e. stumbled upon) the HPM repository on github and found the README. In there was the process and the examples I needed to get me started, I think, I hope! :slight_smile:

So my request is, please put a link to that README in the developer section of that doc for HPM.

As we all know, "searching for answers" is no fun. Good doc is critical. I worked in a world where it was essential. But I know, nobody wants to take the time. Its like this everywhere now.

So my other suggestion has to be, all built-in and community apps and drivers should have a user guide, no matter how simple it may be. For a more complex driver with specific requirements, please see mine for a good example (just like the old days for me). Without that, what's a poor user to do if they try to use my driver and it doesn't work? They will blame me, that's what! But it was they who forgot to... can't say it!

Thank you!
TomS

1 Like

I wrote a quick addon app HPM Manifest Generator (in HPM or at https://raw.githubusercontent.com/thebearmay/hubitat/main/apps/hpmManifestGen.groovy ) to simplify the creation of the manifest contents and create an update for the repository.

4 Likes

Documentation for built-in apps and drivers is here:

For apps and drivers created by the community, it’s really dependent on the developer, or a knowledgeable user, to take the time to create documentation.