Subscription mobile app

NOOB Here, I was just wondering do you need a subscription to get notifications on your phone using basic rules? I set up a test to notify me when my side door opens but it doesn't seem to work. Also the mobile app is pretty much useless without a subscription.......is that accurate?

Welcome to the Hubitat forums!

The phone app works without any additional fees or subscriptions.

Not correct. They are two totally different things. The mobile app is how you control devices like turning on or off a bulb remotely or watching temperature/motion sensors. But what the phone app does not allow is administration of the hub like writing rules, adding new devices, and so on.

The remote access (one of the two subscription services) allows you to do everything remotely that you would do locally like writing rules, managing devices, seeing the Zwave tables, and so on.

The other subscription service is a cloud backup and extended warranty for the hub.

2 Likes

OK, thank you for clarifying; I have a Google Pixel 5 and I have the following issues:

1. I created a basic rule to send my phone a notification when my side door is opened, the side door has a SmartThings contact sensor, and I don't get any notifications
  2. I can't see any devices on the mobile app so I tried creating a room and I could see the room, but none of the devices in it
  3. My dashboard is just blank and I can't do anything with it

Please forgive my ignorance, I am a NOOB; however, I do have a fair amount of smart home devices and I'm usually pretty good with this stuff, but I need some help here lol.

1. Ok, so the first thing you should do is see if the Smartthings sensor is working. Go to Devices tab (on a computer or web browser, not the phone app) and go to the device management page. Does the state of the device (presumably open and closed) match the actual physical state of the door?