Sony TV Driver

I'm not a developer, but I was able to get some functionality out of this driver for the Sony Bravia TV.

I created a fork from Smarthings

This is the ST Source and details

and here is my fork updated for HE.

I was using this with ST, so I just used the same values I was already using. The ST post gives all the needed info about how to get the correct device ID for the device. It's a the hex version of the IP of your TV.

I had a piston that I used based on the TV being on, so this will be a nice addition for me. Not sure how many other people are using Sony TV's.

Works with latest Hub update.

1 Like

I have found one issue. It does not update the status unless I poll. There is not automatic poll. I’ll have to set up something scheduled to keep the status up to date. Other wise it works well. TV, on/off, etc

Awesome. Just got an 850f and was hoping I could call the status whether it's on or off and control the power. Any updates to this?

Updates as in what? Did you try it, and it didn't work?

It works, i would just like to see the buttons laid out a bit different. More importantly though, status of sound level. Also scared to take the next android update, as this hasn't updated in a year.

1 Like

I set this up on my XBR-85X900F. It works, but needs some improvement. I'm going to start working on this a little in a few weeks when I'm back at home from some work travel.

One thing I need for sure is automatic polling of ON/OFF status, as that is the main thing I want from this. I'll probably set it up for either once/min or once/5 min (like the Roku TV driver does currently).

I use this driver on smartthings and all I did was attach a smart plug with power monitoring to the tv then on standby it uses about 20w and on about 85w so just wrote a rule when power goes above 40w poll and goes below 40w poll this keeps the status up-to-date without having to poll every so often and is more responsive.

1 Like