Sonoff Motion Sensors False Motion Detection

I've been using these for around 3 months now, maybe more.
I have noticed that for the past week-ish some of my lights have been turning on in the middle of the night. This has only just started.
Investigating the logs and events it is because my Sonoff Motion Detectors, SNZB-03, are detecting motion. The house is in complete darkness and we do not have any pets and my wife would have said if we have ghosts.
It is happening on all of the Sonoff devices. Once a night at random times. It's not one doing it, a light coming on which a different one 'sees' and turns on another light. It's totally random and they are far apart time wise.
I also have some Xiaomi/Aqara devices in these rooms and they are not going active.
I'm using the 'Zigbee - Sonoff Motion Sensor' by Markus.

Anyone else getting false positives with these devices or any suggestions what might be causing it.
It is strange that it has only just started though.
(I've written a rule to notify me when they go active when we are all in bed to track them).

Just a random thought, but are these devices where they might see the airflow from a heating vent? I keep my house lower at night so when the fan first kicks on there is a quick burst of cool air expelled followed by the heated air....

1 Like

I have as well but during the day. I am thinking that it might be snow falling that's somehow creating tiny light changes that the inside motion detector picks up? I was thinking about relocating the sensor to be less sensitive to outside movement. I wish I could adjust the sensitivity.

Curious to see what others experience. This only started recently for me (but then again so did first snow of the season).

Thanks for the info but mine are in 4 different rooms. Heating goes off at night and I'm in the UK so cooling really isn't necessary. :slight_smile: so I'm pretty sure it's not. Good call though.