[Sonoff] Adding Sonoff ZigBee SNZB-02 to Google Home

Hi folks.
I'm a complete newbie so I'm sorry if this is a silly question.
I've added a a Sonoff SNZB-02 Temperature and Humidity Sensor to my devices and it's showing up fine. However, when I go to the apps section and try add it to my Google Home devices, it gets ignored and eventually disappears from the list again. Is there a way to configure the device so that it can be recognised by the Google Home app?

I had used a Sonoff hub before and Google Home was able to recognise the sensor though that.

Any help is very much appreciated.
Thanks!

Welcome to Hubitat, I'm not a Google Home user so I can't really help, but I'm sure someone with more knowledge about this will come along! Meanwhile, I'm assuming when you say it disappears from the list, you are talking about the Google Home app and not the Hubitat Device page?

1 Like

Hi nclark.
Yes it appears fine in the Hubitat Device page and displays the temperature and humidity readings correctly.
It's when I add it to the list of devices to share with Google Home in the Google Home app in Hubitat Apps that I encounter the issue.

The app does say that "If you include a device that isn't compatible with Google Home it will just be ignored and not sent to Google Home", I'm assuming that's what's happening here.

I have shared light switches. But the Sonoff sensors don't appear to be compatible with Google Home. It's the same deal with the Sonoff SNZB-04 Wireless Door/Window Sensor. But they did work with Google Home through the Sonoff Bridge before.

Ok that's weird, might have something to do with the way it's implemented in the driver or something. Sorry I can't help more than that.

1 Like

I've not played with Google home, but often I've seen advice along the lines of creating a Virtual Device that Google Home does understand, and then linking that to events generated by the real device.

Dig around a little, you might find something.