Solar Pool Heating Control

First off, I'm a rule machine novice, still learning how it works. So, I think I've bitten off a little more than I can chew with this project, but I'm pretty sure that if I can get some help and advice, my understanding of Rule Machine will be tremendously increased in the process.

The Goal: Use Rule Machine to heat my inground pool as much as possible using my Solar Pool Heating system.

The Problem: I can get a decent amount of heat from the solar system. However, it can cool the pool just as effectively as it can heat it. Meaning, when the system is under manual control and I forget that it is running, I can heat the pool up a few degrees during the day, and then cool it right back down again by leaving it running overnight! When it is sunny out, it absorbs solar radiation and heats the water, but when the sun isn't out, and the ambient temperature is lower than the pool water it just radiates heat and cools the water!

Compared to manual control, a very simple program to turn the solar system on in the afternoon and then off at night should be a step forward.

The Twist to Make it Interesting: However, here in Seattle, I'm really trying to get the most out of this system in the spring and fall when it might be sunny, but with an outdoor ambient temperature that is often lower than the pool temp setpoint (80 degrees). In this conditions it is little more complicated. If there is minimal solar radiation to absorbed, running the system can cause cooling. So, to really get good use of this system I need to understand and figure out how to control the system to heat the pool during parts of the year when the ambient temperature is below the pool set point of 80 degrees. Iā€™ve found that on REALLY sunny days, even down to 65 degrees, I can get heat.

The Hardware Setup:
-Zooz MultiRelays are setup to control the variable speed pool pump (lo, med, high speeds) and to operate all the pool valves.