So I installed Home Assistant on my server…

And now I recall why I got rid of it ages ago! Calling it User hostile is being kind!

If it wasn’t for Hubitat not supporting MQTT presence sensors, I’d delete it again.

FWIW, I’m an IT professional who started learning computing on an XT class PC running MS DOS 2.11 in the mid 80’s. So I’m not averse to using CLI’s etc.

3 Likes

What? Hubitat fully supports MQTT devices. Hubitat doesn’t have an MQTT broker, so you’ll need to provide that, but Hubitat can definitely have client devices. It’d be really nice if Hubitat had a built-in app that ran Mosquitto or something, so an external broker wasn’t needed. I used to have a bunch of MQTT devices connected to Hubitat until I got tired of maintaining an external broker, so I switched them all over to REST.

I recently put Home Assistant on a Pi3B and have also suddenly realized that I hate it.

4 Likes

I'll be a contrarian here (shocker, I know...).

I find HAs interface and dashboards pretty easy to use, but I've used it a long time and am not looking at it from inexperienced eyes anymore. I find it is significantly better for LAN integrations in general (in product/ecosystem coverage, speed, and reliability). When using HAOS (in a VM or rpi) system maintenance on it is trivial/not an issue.

That said, I don't do any automation or logic in HA, as I strongly prefer the options in Hubitat and node-red. The HA blueprints are cute, but not my cup of tea. Nor do I have any of my Zwave, Zigbee, or Matter devices in HA - they are all on Hubitat.

The cool part, regardless of preference, is that there are multiple options out there and these days it is trivial to get data into/out of them so people can mix and match as they see fit! Good place to be.