Smartenit ZBMLCSR Zigbee version switch

I'm new to the Hubitat Elevation and generally to Home Automation.
Bought my Elevation a couple of years ago but it's still sealed in its original box.
Finally getting around to implementing some automation and control!
My first goal is to keep the water heater off during the On-Peak billing period, which is 3-8 PM weekdays. Sometimes I pull the disconnect, but doing that manually is getting old fast.
I'm looking at the Smartenit Zigbee version of ZBMLCSR, normally closed version (model 4040C-NC), smart switch.
I'm comfortable and experienced enough to install it myself, probably right on the disconnect box near the heater. The NC version is rated at 30A while the NO version rated at 40A; but my heater only draws about 19A. I felt NC is more practical due to slightly lower parasitic energy consumption (only activated for 5 hrs/day) and its fail-safe nature (if the device fails to activate, the water heater just stays on per normal).
Should this device work the same on the Hubitat Zigbee network as their other ZBMLC30 device (that seems to be a dual-output version, more for two-speed motors for example)? I've seen that folks on this forum have been successful with that model, but I'm not sure that means this other model will likely work the same way.
Since it's a $150 device, I thought I'd ask here before taking the plunge.
I know there is also the GE/Jasco Z-Wave switch, which can be bought for the same price, but from what I've read here, it seems I may have more luck with Zigbee. So far I don't have any devices of either Z-Wave or Zigbee flavor, but I did also just now order some 3-series CentraLite switched outlet cubes, so I guess I'm leaning towards Zigbee stuff. I plan to use one of those cubes to control grow lights so my wife can start seedlings indoors this year.

You want this guy, it's only 85 bucks and we have an inbuilt driver for it.
I have one running my air compressor in the shop.

3 Likes

Thanks Mike!