Smart Light Under Bed

Hi All,

I am new to the Hubitat community, but wanted to get some advice/suggestion. I have a spare rope light that I was going to mount under the bed so when we get out of bed they would turn on. However, I am a little stuck on how to do this. I have a generic z wave motion sensor and was going to place that under the bed but we have 3 dogs and was thinking that might cause a false trigger. The sensor is pet immune and was thinking of installing that in the corner of the room, but then realized that if we roll over in bed that would also trigger the lights. I was trying not to buy one of the under bed kits since I already had the components to make this work. Does anyone have any suggestions or willing to share how they did there setups?

Thanks

Some people are using pressure mats for this. What I ended up doing was putting a motion sensor next to the bed on a dresser but faces away from the bed. This motion sensor is only activated in 'Sleep' mode and turns on some night lights. All of the other motions sensors in the room are disabled when in 'Sleep' mode. I have the motion sensor setup so that when I stand up from bed it senses motion. I'm sure others will have much better solutions but this has worked flawlessly for me.

3 Likes

PIR motion sensors detect a change in IR. I have one in my bedroom that turns on a smart light bulb - a kind of nightlight. I did have to mount the sensor so that it only sees me when I sit up or wave my arms. It works pretty well and doesn't turn on when I rollover because the 'change' in IR is small. Since you already have the parts, why not try it? Assuming you have a way to try different locations for the sensor with putting holes in the wall.

1 Like

I’ve got a motion sensor on the dresser across from the foot of the bed, it either doesn’t activate in the middle of the night or it’s set so low it doesn’t bother us.