Simple Virtual Switch App

I'm just starting out with some virtual switches and trying to learn about them in a very simple app. I have created two of them and at this point, simply want to read event details when they are pressed. After loading and running the following app code, I open "Devices", choose one of the virtual switches listed and press its On button- no event is registered. What concept am I missing?

definition(
    name: "Simple App Example",
    namespace: "anonymous",
    author: "anonymous",
    description: "Whatever",
    category: "Convenience",
    iconUrl: "",
    iconX2Url: "",
    iconX3Url: "")

preferences
{
    section
    {
        input "switchOne", "capability.switch", multiple: false, required: true
        input "switchTwo", "capability.switch", multiple: false, required: true
    }
}

void installed()
{
    updated()
}

void updated()
{
    unsubscribe()
    subscribe(switchOne, "switch.on", oneHandler)
    subscribe(switchTwo, "switch.on", twoHandler)
}

void uninstalled()
{
    unsubscribe()
}

void oneHandler(evt)
{
    log.debug "oneHandler event name is ${evt.name}"
}

void twoHandler(evt)
{
    log.debug "twoHandler event name is ${evt.name}"
}

I don't see anything in your code that looks wrong, and I just installed a copy to test, which also worked for me.

I'd make sure you hit "Done" inside your app (that is when the updated() will run, which is where your subscriptions get created). And while you probably thought of this, I'd also make sure you either didn't choose any mode restrictions (this gets automatically added to single-page apps) or that whatever you've chosen is not in effect.