Simple Automation Triggers While Restricted

Hello all. I have a C7 running 2.3.4.130. I have a simple automation I setup for Christmas time to turn Christmas tree on at 7a and off at 10p. Super simple. I set a restriction based on a virtual point (Christmas Season - between a set of dates controlled in RM). The virtual point works like expected and I can see the Simple Automation restricted, but the automation continues to run.

I'm confused by this and before I just blow the automation out, I figured I'd post the anomaly here for insights. Any ideas? Just blow away and recreate maybe?

I'm no expert, but I'm totally not clear on what "restrict only the trigger of this rule" in the Restrictions section, means. I think I've changed this from one to another in the past and made something or other work better. Maybe you could try that.

I read up on it. If you restrict trigger and pending actions, say the restriction happens after the initial trigger (turn light on at 7a), then the light will not turn off at 10p for example. Restricting only the trigger should allow the automation to shut the light off at 10p.
Restriction Options for Basic Rule, Simple Automation Rule and Rule 5.1

Thanks for the link. I'm educated now.
I set up a similar automation to yours.
It seems to work.
I say seems, because I won't really know until tomorrow this time if the rule is actually disabled.
With only the trigger, it'll seem as if the automation is running as usual until the next day.

1 Like

Well, I don't think it works!
I forgot to actually sit there and watch the dining room chandelier, but it looks like the rule triggered at 11:40 even though the virtual switch was off since yesterday.
This could be a job for @bravenel .

Chandelier events:

Rule:

Restriction:

Test switch:

Turn on logging in the app, and post a screenshot of those logs for when it doesn't work as expected.

Seeing the same thing here. Rule is restricted, but doesn't care. actions still initiate.