hi @BorrisTheCat i was deliberately doing that so i used the default preferences, just in case there was weirdness with particular settings. for example, some users are reporting that certain bulbs work OK with the new driver only when they have certain pref values set.
i think (but didn't thoroughly document) i subsequently change some prefs (such as logging) after a while so i didn't add too much logging load to my hub.
are you saying that by accepting the default preferences (by not explicitly clicking Save Preferences after the Save Device before clicking Configure) this is a problem that will cause a device to never work? (i hope not 'cause all this reset troubleshooting is soooo tedious and time-consuming, ladders to remove bulbs, blah blah)