Security Best Practice

Greetings!

I am new to Hubitat but not to security and automation. My programming skills are novice, to say the least. Seeing both sides of the fence, it seems automation does really well in its own realm and security does really well in its own realm. Coming from the security side it seems there is a struggle in the integration of the two. HE is an automation platform but seems to lack security basics without extensive input into the system. It seems some of these basics should be in HSM, but are not. My hope is to look at best practices being used in HE from a security point of view. I am posting this in rule machine as it is much more robust than HSM

I want to kick off the discussion with a basic feature of an alarm... The alarm! Trying to do things on a budget I am using my Amazon Echos to be my audible alarm. When a door is opened while the mode is away, a virtual switch is triggered sounding my echos. The trouble is it won't turn off. Here is my rule...

Using your Echos is not very reliable for security. It relies on your internet working and your home having power, both of which are big no-no's when it comes to any type of "security" system. However, if not getting the alarm if your internet is down is a risk you are willing to take, then that's completely up to you.

Also, doing it this way will not give you an audible warning during the intrusion delay. The siren will just go off all of a sudden. There are several devices which can alert you during the intrusion delay but you would have to set that up separately. You could also have a different sound play through your echo speakers during the intrusion delay but again, that depends on the internet.